Three Things I learned in Business: You get what you negotiate

Adonis Richards
2 min readJul 24, 2023

I remember having a conversation with a close friend of mine about jobs and negotiating. She said to me one job she had was offering her $60,000. She negotiated $80,000 plus the ability to work from home two days out of the week. To navigate a work climate and ensure her needs are accommodated for her services was no small feat. A lot of jobs probably would've declined her terms. However, this showcases her ability to assess her and the company's needs to fit everyone's interests and get the best out of the job. And 2, get what she negotiated.

Listening to her inspired me; as someone currently working in higher ed and running a writing business getting his feet wet, I'm learning how to get what I negotiate. Regarding business or any workforce, I'm constantly paying attention to others' fees and viewing my work and worth.

Just today, I spoke to someone who agreed to pay me to do a writer's workshop for youth. I told them that my hourly rate was 50$, and they offered me 100$ based on my relationship with them and the value I bring to the work.

When working with the Brooklyn magazine, I negotiated 50$ an article; I was nervous asking for that amount; however, the publisher obliged without a hitch. I was shocked yet happy to be able to set my price and terms with these gigs and not have to negotiate less. Your worth is not determined by what you do sometimes; it's what you deal with when you get to the table. Remember, you're interviewing people too. You're…

--

--