Taking the time to slow down

Adonis Richards
2 min readAug 30, 2021
image credit to hans on pixabay

I have this 300 writing prompts book that I periodically write in. I was supposed to write in it every day. However, between purchasing it and now I got into a car accident and my birthday occurred. In that time I had a supreme rush of anxiety trying to get a new vehicle ( I'm unemployed and I lyft for a living as of now) and planning a birthday poetry slam.

don’t ask me how I did it, I just did. I don’t even know how I managed any of that. especially with me being the type of person that thinks the world is crumbling whenever something bad occurs in my life.

Nevertheless, The book. I finally got a chance to relax after my birthday weekend festivities and opened the page to write. After breezing through a bunch of prompts I wasn’t prepared to write about or not interested in, I finally came across one. “ What stoplight would you describe your life to be right now?” ( I’m paraphrasing).

immediately I thought green because I’m always on GO. My mind is racing, between anxiety, things I haven’t done, depression, and poems I haven’t written, my mind never stops. Therefore, I’m always moving.

I’m impatient and consistently moving towards my goals. Never taking the opportunity to relax. so, go was the natural reaction. However, this time I thought about my life and, slow down, or yellow flowed from my mind to the pen to the…

--

--