Reflections of A hopeless Creative: A birthday special

Adonis Richards
3 min readAug 31, 2021

A year ago I was staring at a mural of one of my idols wondering how my life would play out.

Nipsey Hussle died at the age of 33 years old and had become a millionaire, an icon, an idol, a community leader, an activist and so much more. And there I was, this 26-year-old kid who felt like he had accomplished nothing. Staring at a mural of a man I saw to be a king, a conqueror.

I once read that Julius Caesar in his early days of war and conquest came across a mural of Alexander the Great. At that moment Caesar had fallen to his knees and cried.

Why is this? It was because at the age of 33 Alexander the Great had died conquering all of the known worlds at the time of his reign. Caesar, 10 years older than Alexander, was just a general in the Roman Army. He had felt as if he failed in his life at that moment.

The rest we know to be history. This moment I was in, was my Caesar to Alexander moment. I was Caesar, and Nipsey was Alexander. I did not cry, however. No, I just sat there. In awe. Inspired. And recharged. It was an honor to have been on the planet with someone so powerful at the same time. And yet, I sat there thinking to myself, what have you accomplished? What legacy have you left?

--

--